Professor Cait Macphee

Royal Society awards go to four IOP Members and Fellows

Four IOP Members and Fellows are to receive awards from the Royal Society (RS), given for “outstanding contributions to science”, the society announced today.

They are among the winners of 24 prestigious RS medals, awards and prize lectures and will receive their awards at a ceremony later this year.

Portrait of Prof. Edward Hinds.

Professor Edward Hinds (left), a Fellow of the IOP, has been awarded the Bakerian Medal and Lecture – one of the RS’s Premier Awards – “for his achievements in controlling individual atoms, molecules and photons,” the RS said. “With these, he has advanced our understanding of fundamental phenomena such as Casimir forces, dark energy and supersymmetry.”

Professor Hinds is Director of the Centre for Cold Matter at Imperial College London. He received our Thomson Medal and Prize in 2008 and our Faraday Medal and Prize in 2013.

Professor Cait Macphee

IOP Fellow Professor Cait MacPhee (right) has been awarded the Gabor Medal of the RS “for her contributions to understanding protein aggregation that inform approaches to diseases such as Alzheimer’s and diabetes and to the creation of self-assembled functional biopolymers”.

Professor MacPhee, an experimental biomolecular physicist, is Professor of Biological Physics at the University of Edinburgh. She received a CBE in the 2016 New Year Honours for services to women in physics.

Professor Ian Walmsley

IOP Fellow Professor Ian Walmsley (left) has been awarded the Rumford Medal “for pioneering work in the quantum control of light and matter on ultrashort timescales, especially the invention and application of new techniques for characterisation of quantum and classical light fields”.

Professor Walmsley is pro-vice-chancellor for research and Hooke Professor of Experimental Physics at the University of Oxford, and director of the Networked Quantum Information Technologies hub in the UK National Quantum Technology Programme. He received our Young Medal and Prize in 2011.

Dr Emma Chapman

IOP Member Dr Emma Chapman (right) has been awarded the Royal Society Athena Prize 2018 Individual Category “for driving nationally impactful policy changes concerning sexual harassment issues in higher education”.

Dr Chapman is a Royal Astronomical Society Research Fellow based at Imperial College London. She received our Very Early Career Woman Physicist of the Year Award in 2014.

(Photos of Professor Edward Hinds, Professor Ian Walmsley and Dr Emma Chapman from Imperial College London. Photo of Professor Cait McPhee from University of Edinburgh)


Comment via Facebook

Comment via Disqus


Comment via Google+